11 Comments

Oh gosh, what marvellous discussion points today!!

I'm a big history nerd so I would love to invite some wonderful historians; Dr Lucy Wolsey, Professor Susannah Libscombe, Dr Tracy Borman and Dr Kate Lister. What a discussion they would have!!

With the history theme in mind, I might serve a historically themed afternoon tea, researching pastry recipes from bygone eras - sugared flowers, spiced pears, honey and cinnamon tart from the Tudor era, Elizabethan naughty cake, Georgian cheesecake and lemon ice. Oh and of course, Victorian cucumber sandwiches and scones.

Expand full comment
author

This is a feast I would love to gate crash. I have recently started listening to 'Short History' podcasts. In only the past few days, I have leaned more about the Great Wall of China, JR Tolkien, The Roman Colosseum, Mozart, Agatha Christi and more, than I ever knew before.

Expand full comment

This sounds like a podcast I need to check out!

Expand full comment

If I could host a fantasy dinner, it would be to invite Weston A. Price for a meal. For those who don't know him: Price has been called "the Isaac Newton of nutrition." He was a dentist and researcher who traveled the world in search of proof that a vegetarian diet could sustain us, but what he found was a mountain of evidence of the opposite, that animal products are essential for optimum human health.

What I'd serve: A NY strip steak sautéd in grass-fed butter and homegrown lemon thyme and garlic. My own naturally fermented beet sauerkraut. Perhaps my own rye sourdough bread. For dessert, raw goat milk from a local farm in one of my favorite smoothies, using frozen plums from the native trees in our garden.

I'd love to ask him what it was really like immersing himself in the lives of the last-surviving ancient cultures back in the 1920s and 30s.

Expand full comment
author

I love this, especially the Rye Sourdough Bread, as I also make my own.

Being able to ask people from the past, their reasons for doing something, how they felt at the outcome and what we, living in the future can learn from their research.

Expand full comment

Thanks! I’m always looking to up my sourdough game. Do you have a recommended source, or is this your own, long-practiced technique?

Expand full comment
author

Find Elaine Boddy on Facebook. I use her recipe. She has a fb group and has written several sourdough books. This is her website. https://foodbodsourdough.com/the-process/

Expand full comment

What an exciting and daunting idea! Exciting because I would love to have Julia Child, Flo Braker, David Leibovitz, and Jacques Pepin together in one room and be able to talk with each of them. They have inspired me, along with millions of other home cooks, to master the basics and build from there. The daunting part comes in serving a meal to them. I think I’d keep it simple with a classic roasted chicken, mashed potatoes, and haricots verts. For dessert, crème brûlée. Thanks, Lynn for the fun and fabulous topic!

Expand full comment
author

That's a great line up of guests.

Expand full comment

I've thought about this for years (haven't we all!.) My fantasy dinner party line up changes but Margaret Rutherford is always at the table. Rather than be daunted by cooking for great food writers, I'd rather serve a simple meal to people who've given me so much pleasure with their acting, writing, research etc. My list is ofton populated by brilliant English eccentrics like Miriam Rothschild. The food would be in 2nd place to the conversation but it would take place in the summer so I could make and serve a proper peach melba. Poached white peaches, home made vanilla, or fig leaf icecream, and a fresh raspberry sauce. And work the menu back from there! Probably a perfect British cheeseboard too, with homemade discard sourdough crackers. And a perfect chilled dessert wine.

Expand full comment
author

I still can't decide on my guests, but I would also want to keep the meal simple so as to enjoy the conversation.

Expand full comment