17 Comments

My Italian mother in law is a sorceress in the cucina! She taught me how to cook simply, efficiently, and seasonally when I moved to Italy 14 years ago from my take out food world of NYC. She not only changed the way I cook but in doing so, bettered my life! 💚🤍❤️

Expand full comment

My NAn. We lived with her and everything was grown in the garden, everything shopped for daily and locally, and cooked from scratch! No UPF at all.

Best dish - roast chicken and Victoria sponge cake - her name was Victoria! Worst- soft digestive biscuits that had been in the tin for weeks( years even🤣🤣🤣🤣)

Expand full comment

Your Nan sounds like a Nan I want to have!! 🥰 minus those stale digestives 😂😅

Expand full comment

Ah I had better not mention the Colman's mustard then 🤣

Expand full comment

Would have been Gran, she would make pro celebration cakes, amazing at icing. All manner of things would come out the oven, the best being rice pudding!

Expand full comment
author

Rice pudding with skin on. Mmmm

Expand full comment

My community! I was inspired to research our food traditions and recipes because of two community events centred on food. My grandparents are all from Molise, a small southern Italian region. My family has been involved in two community associations (representing the towns they’re from) since the 70s. Every year, these two associations host feasts in the fall where my nonna and a bunch of other community members prepare traditional meals from their hometowns. Even though these associations are dwindling in membership, these parties would draw 300 people, of all generations. They inspired me to learn more about Molise through food, folklore, and oral history.

Expand full comment
author

These communities and feasts sound wonderful. I can see how they are such an inspiration for you.

Expand full comment

It’s definitely a privilege I hold dear - lucky to have such active community groups and a family who has taught me to value them

Expand full comment

This is such a great question! My Mum was definitely my biggest cooking influence as a kid and nurtured the love of cooking in me. She was patient with my little self and always found a job for me to do.

But, I think the greatest influences were the chefs and cooks on the old school PBS cooking shows; Julia Child, Martin Yan, and Jacques Pepin. They really emphasized fun and technique! It was also such a pivot point to experiencing more world cuisine as well.

Martha Stewart and Ina Garten were big influences on me from a teen into adulthood. That whole idea of cooking and home entertaining was solidified for me while I busily took down notes after each episode of their shows!

Expand full comment
author

I enjoyed watching Ina Garten.

Expand full comment
Jul 6Liked by Lynn Hill

I'm autistic, and cooking is my special interest. If I don't get to cook, I literally get cranky. I talk to people about cooking often, and try not to get disappointed if they aren't interested. Basically, it's my hobby on steroids 😅 My late mom owned a pizzeria, and my dad/stepmom work in food distribution (stepmom is a clasically trained chef). So I've been in a lot of different professional kitchens from a young age. I just love being creative with food and drink!

Expand full comment
author

I am sure you will find lots of people who are interested in talking about cooking.

Expand full comment
Jul 6Liked by Lynn Hill

I have here! 🥰

Expand full comment

Lots of Grans and Mams seemed to have influenced people. Not here, I was brought up on Bernard Matthews Turkey Burgers and potato waffles. My mother couldn’t be bothered to cook, so if you were hungry you perused the boxes in the freezer. Probably why I became a chef, Bernard Matthews inspired me.

Expand full comment

Who or what inspired me to cook/bake or write about food?

Initially my beautiful mum, who herself didn’t know how to cook when she got married, but taught herself because she enjoyed it. The simple joy she has for cooking brushed off and I always jumped at the chance to help her or try a new cake recipe.

So much so that at seventeen I started a chef’s apprenticeship, and have had a glorious thirty five year career in hospitality. I’ve learned from other chefs I’ve worked with (both good & bad) and from the styles of restaurants & cafes I’ve worked in.

As to the writing part, I’ve always loved creative writing, scribbling nonsense stories since I was a kid. It’s only been the past couple of years that I’ve realised I can blend my two favourite things, and write foodie fiction. That itself washed over here to Substack where I can write about food in another way; with chef memories, kitchen musings, and pretty much anything to do with baking.

👩🏻‍🍳

Expand full comment