110 Comments
author

My answer? Vanilla ice cream. Specifically Talenti vanilla gelato. ❤️ I am pretty sure I could enjoy a spoonful or two for the rest of my life and never fall out of love. Also, I asked my family what they thought my answer to this question would be. The guessed and guessed and never got it. I am such a baker, they never thought my answer would be something I could buy at the grocery store. 😂 (I should say, I'd never give up baking even if all I could eat at the end of it was ice cream.)

Expand full comment
author

Yes to Vanilla Ice cream. Perhaps accompanied with a slice of apple pie. :-)

Expand full comment
Sep 16Liked by Rebecca Blackwell

Vanilla is my first choice in ice cream as well! Especially a really good one.

I just bought a very modest ice cream maker and am looking forward to trying it.

Expand full comment
author

What kind did you get? I've had my eye on a Ninja Creami for months now.... but when you live in an RV, new purchase decisions have to come with a plan for where to store it. The second I find a place for it, I'm ordering one.

Expand full comment
Sep 16Liked by Rebecca Blackwell

I bought a Narcissus Mini Ice Cream Maker and we’ll see if it works at all. It’s small. I haven’t tried it as yet as our landlords are doing work and everything is in 6s and 7s.

I did end up getting an ice cream cone press griddle, which is probably over the top. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

And I got a steel thermos container that you can either put home made ice cream in or a pint. I’m thinking about moving into an RV of some sort myself so I’m tending to buy things that would work there.

No excuse whatsoever re: the griddle.

Expand full comment
author

No matter what, the ice cream cone griddle will be fun! And, YES to moving into an RV! :-)

Expand full comment

I’m also a vanilla ice cream girl!

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

Apple crumble for me. Ground almonds, hazelnuts and sage in the topping and crisp Granny Smith apples to offset the sweetness of the crumble. A few blackberries as a counterpoint. 🍏

Expand full comment
author

Sage is an interesting flavour to add to an Apple Crumble. It sound nice. I love a crunchy crumble topping with nuts.

Expand full comment
author

The mention of sage caught my eye as well, and as it happens, I am working on an apple crumble recipe right now. Think I might throw some in to the next batch. Fascinating idea Victoria!

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Rebecca Blackwell

Oooh let me know how it works for you both! Hope you love it. 😊

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

I read somewhere that adding bay to the apples works well too so that’s something to try this autumn! I’ve heard that bay works well in custard too. So many experiments, so little time!! 😂

Expand full comment
author

Ok. So now I'm going to try this as well. My husband is thrilled that I just said I was going to have to make at least two more apple crumbles to test some things I just learned about.

Expand full comment
author

Wow. Everyday is a school day on Substack. I have both these herbs growing in my garden.

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

A perfect peach.

Expand full comment
author

I feel that this answer deserves a huge gold star because who among us would ever get tired of a really good peach???? Here's the rest of us thinking of all the decadent things we might make and there's Kate reminding us that you can't improve nature. ❤️

Expand full comment

Well gosh! Thank you! IMHO there’s nothing…NOTHING…that compares to a perfectly sweet and juicy ripe peach. 🍑

Expand full comment
author

A good healthy answer.

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

If I could only have one dessert it would have to be cheesecake. A plain baked vanilla American style one topped with sour cream. I love most desserts but that is the one I would pick.

Expand full comment
author

I'm with you on the plain vanilla. I love a lot of cheesecake variations, but if it was something I was restricted to eat for the rest of my live, plain vanilla wins out.

Expand full comment
author

I love a good cheesecake. Although I prefer the non baked kind, with a crushed biscuit base, and the filling made with double cream, mascarpone and full fat cream cheese. With fresh mixed berries swirling through.

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

I love a good cheesecake too. I had a burnt basque cheesecake in a Michelin starred restaurant once and it was so good I couldn't stop giggling.

Expand full comment
author

It's a wonderful feeling when you eat out and the meal is amazing. I find it sets the bar for every meal after that.

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Rebecca Blackwell

It does! No burnt basque cheesecake has ever beaten it!

Expand full comment
author

I love the image this description conjured in my mind. Giggling over cheesecake. How great is that???

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Rebecca Blackwell

It was unbridled joy!

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

It would be cake, 100 percent! As I get older, my sweet tooth isn’t as needy (lol), but I am happy to eat cake with frosting any day of the week. It holds a special memory for me too as my mom always made special birthday cakes for me and my brother when we were young. I did the same for my three kids and their birthdays. Now that I know our dear Lynn Hill has 2 cake cookbooks, I see myself ordering those soon from Amazon. Long live cake!

Expand full comment
author

I wonder if my sweet tooth is also declining a bit as I get older. Although I love frosting on cakes, I think I'd go for a plain vanilla sponge cake. Perhaps filled with cream and jam.

Expand full comment
author

In every category of dessert, if I had to choose just one, it would be something basic. I love unique, complex, bold flavors... but if it was my only option, simplicity rules.

Expand full comment
author
Sep 14·edited Sep 14Author

Long live cake! I am with you! Weirdly, I didn't think I liked cake all that much when I was younger. Such foolishness because now I feel that a week without cake is a wasted one.

Expand full comment
author

Also - I have to ask you: What kind of cake???? If you could only eat one kind of cake for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Expand full comment

Omg! I didn’t even answer that part, lol. Definitely chocolate cake with vanilla buttercream frosting 😋

Expand full comment
author

Perfection!

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

For me it has to be mince pies. Although I only eat them nowadays during the Christmas season and am very fussy about the pastry and filling (which I make myself) they are the desert I've most loved since childhood.

My aunt made them throughout the year- I'd sneak into the kitchen and be given one on the sly before lunch. She knew how much I loved them.

You can vary the ingredients for the mincemeat- one year I made an orange, cranberry and crystalized ginger variation which was light and delicious. They can be served hot or cold, with cream or brandy butter.

For me they are evocative of happy times past, warmth, love and my favorite time of year.

I can still eat them anytime from Christmas to summer and back again.😊

Expand full comment
author

I love mince pies, but rarely eat them because of the number of calories in them and the fact that one is never enough. :-)

They are now available in the supermarkets and guess what, I bought some for my husband, who would eat them all year round.

Once I get back into pastry baking mode, I'll start batch baking some for him.

Expand full comment

I hear you about the calories and one never being enough. That's why they are now reserved for Christmas for me. But if I had only one desert I could ever eat again I'd be having them more often 😉

Expand full comment
author

Ok. So I'm about to admit something embarrassing: I've never had a mince pie. Since you've chosen it as the only dessert you'd eat for the rest of your life, I now feel this is a huge missed opportunity and must rectify it. Would you be willing to share your filling recipe? I figure I should start with the best and most tried and true.

Expand full comment

Hi Rebecca,

Every year I look up mincemeat recipes and try different ones. Here's a very authentic recipe very similar to what I would use from the British Delia Smith. She has other variations.

https://www.deliaonline.com/recipes/books/delias-happy-christmas/home-made-christmas-mincemeat

Traditionally shortcrust pastry is used but I prefer puff. It's very rich and can be made in small turnovers.

I've made traditional mincemeat with suet/tallow and while it is very juicy it doesn't taste good cold.

For those who would like to try making their own but don't want to make an entire batch of mincemeat, a great hack is to buy a good commercial brand, add chopped apple and some citrus peel or chopped crystalized ginger, and a tablespoon whiskey, brandy or rum. It's not the same though.

I don't mimd making an entire batch because any surplice makes lovely gifts.

When serving a splash of complimentary liquor in the cream, if using, is lovely. Enjoy!

Expand full comment
author

Thank you so much!!! I am excited to try my hand at these!

Expand full comment

Let us know how well you like them. 😊

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Rebecca Blackwell

My Grandmother, whose mother was Cornish, made a mincemeat pasty every Christmas and I love it. But, now I'm the only one left alive in the family who likes it; my sons turn their noses up.

Expand full comment

My children turn up their noses at them too, except one daughter who also loves them. I have a friend who devours them too, so I get to bake for more than just myself.

To be honest if there was only me I would still make them in small batches and freeze the ones I wasn't eating.

I made a pie once but found it too rich. Was probably cutting slices that were too large. 😊

Expand full comment
author

At your suggestion, I’m going to make them with puff pastry. That’s a wonderful idea.

Expand full comment

They will be very rich. But truly delicious.

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

My husband and I have discussed this at length - how can you choose?!!! We talked about apple tart tartin, cherry pie, black forest gateaux. My son popped up and said it had to be my chocolate orange cake.

We eventually settled on sticky toffee pudding with ice cream as it was the dessert served at our wedding. It also makes a spectacular bundt cake, and my sticky toffee pudding and salted caramel brownies are the best I have ever made.

Expand full comment
author

YUM!!! This is a great answer because, I mean, how can you go wrong with sticky toffee pudding and ice cream AND it has sentimental value. Extra points for that.

Expand full comment
author

That's a feast I could enjoy for life.

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

Easy answer for me: my grandmother’s ginger snap cookies 🍪 Not the traditional crunchy sort; they are soft and chewy from a ridiculous amount of butter, have raisins, and are rolled in sugar before baking. Highly addictive. We normally have them around the holidays, but I will eat them anytime of year. And I would happily eat this as my only dessert for the rest of my life.

Expand full comment
author

These sound very good.

Expand full comment
author
Sep 14·edited Sep 14Author

Ooooo.... good answer. My grandma was also a baker and there were always cookies in her house AND gingersnaps were also one of her signature cookies. I am pretty sure that would be my brother's answer to this question. He absolutely loved them! Hers were the traditional crunchy sort but I love the idea of soft gingersnaps with raisins rolled in sugar!

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

I’ll post the recipe around Thanksgiving, because who am I to gatekeep deliciousness?? 😘

Expand full comment
author

Hooray!!!! I can’t wait!

Expand full comment
Sep 16Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

I would say a rustic tart with whatever fruits are in season! 😋🧡

Expand full comment
author

Sounds good to me.

Expand full comment
author

Pure perfection!

Expand full comment
Sep 15Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

I had a lot of answers but it turned out I didn't like the idea of never having a cake for my birthday.

so I choose carrot cake. I've eaten it for breakfast, I like it so much. with a cream cheese frosting.

it can be made a few different ways and the spices can be played with. (I like it more spice-cake-ish.)

Expand full comment
author

Two out of the 4 people in my family agree with you. I have a favorite recipe that I've probably been making for 20 years that includes a lot of spices, cream cheese buttercream, and caramel rum sauce. It's a family favorite!

Expand full comment

ah they have good taste!

Expand full comment
Sep 15Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

Apple Crisp! Hands down, it would make me happy every single day. The recipe is from my grandma.🥰

Expand full comment
Sep 15Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

My grandmothers molasses crumb pie (aka “shoo fly pie” but these Pennsylvanians never called it that) —it tastes like love to me. She made one for breakfast every time I slept over.

Expand full comment
author

I LOVE that she made you pie for breakfast! Breakfast is my favorite time of day to eat dessert. I think I would have loved your grandma.

Expand full comment

Ice Cream. Always and forever! I love pies, cakes, and cobblers, but I think the sensory sensations, plus the flavor diversity of ice cream, would keep me satisfied.

Expand full comment
author

We should definitely be friends. Although, I must ask you…. If you had to choose one flavor, what would it be???? (My answer: Vanilla. Specifically, Talenti vanilla gelato.)

Expand full comment

lol! Done! Hi new friend! Flavor choice? That’s so hard! I love Tillamook vanilla and strawberry, but we have a local dairy farm near us that makes this stunning coconut ice cream with coconut flakes, chocolate curls, and a stream of fudge running through the whole thing. Nom nom nom ❤️

Expand full comment
author

That sounds SO good! And an excellent choice - a little bit unique but not something that would ever go out of favor. We went to the Tillamook cheese factory in Oregon earlier this year with our daughters and all 4 of us ate our weight in cheese and ice cream. It was heaven.

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

This is such a tough question but I will go with Crème Brulée - it offers the home comforts of a vanilla custard while also being very fun to eat (nothing like shattering that layer of caramel with the back of your spoon!). And it's hard to stay grumpy or upset when you eat a Crème Brulée!

Expand full comment
author

This is an answer I am 100% on board with. My answer was vanilla gelato, which is basically the frozen version of creamer brulee. But no crisp, caramel topping. And that is SO hard to beat.

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

Chocolate chip cookies with walnuts. I’ve been perfecting the recipe for decades It’s the first thing I ever baked and it’s also a comfort thing-like getting in touch with my inner child.

Expand full comment
author

You cannot go wrong with chocolate chip cookies. I think you’re the first person to give this answer - I thought it would be a lot of people’s answers!

Expand full comment
author

Chocolate chip cookies are the ultimate in munchiness.

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

Oh!!! Either blueberry buckle or pistachio gelato- must I choose?????

Expand full comment
author

I do not know how you could possibly choose between blueberry buckle or pistachio gelato…. but you must. Which is it Rachel???

Expand full comment
author

Choose both. Life is far too short not to. 😀

Expand full comment
author

Lynn is clearly more egalitarian about food than I. And also wiser. You should take her advice and eat both. Hopefully today. But also, if you had to choose.... ? 🙂

Expand full comment

I love that point of view!

Expand full comment

Fun question! I guess I would have to choose an apple. My sweet tooth has lessened with age and my “salt tooth” increased. There are a huge variety of apples, and there’s nothing like the taste of one that’s fresh and crisp. But if it’s not cheating this “one dessert” theme, there are so many ways you can eat them (other than turning them into pie, which I assume would classify as a dessert in its own right)—slicing and dipping (caramel, honey, etc.), baking, frying, saucing, etc. I’d never tire of them.

Expand full comment
author

It is impossible to improve upon a fresh, crisp apple, isn’t it???? Also, you and @Kate McDermott should be friends. I’ll be over there with my bowls of vanilla ice cream and you and Kate will be all fit and happy eating your pieces of fruit. 😂

Expand full comment
author

I am toying with the idea of getting a Ninja Creami Ice cream maker.

Expand full comment
author

Me too! The only thing stopping me is where I’ll put it. The second I figure that out, I’m ordering one.

Expand full comment

I do know Kate and love her blog! My second choice would probably be one of her pies (maybe apple!) topped by a scoop of vanilla ice cream (love Talenti!).

Expand full comment

Thank you, @Rebecca Blackwell, what a deliciously challenging question! After much thought, I found myself torn between crème brûlée, crema catalana, and crème bavarois. In the end, I chose crème bavarois — but with a tropical twist!

I'd make it with coconut milk and cream of coconut, creating that luscious, creamy texture I love. And because I’m such a fan of the cream variant, I wouldn't replace it with anything else! For a fruity topping, I’d choose something like a mango puree to harmonize beautifully with the coconut, or maybe raspberries if I were using a milk variant.

What makes this recipe so irresistible is its versatility — it can even be frozen and turned into ice cream! With so many flavor possibilities, I could easily transform this one recipe into at least a dozen different desserts with just a little twist, depending on what’s currently available.

This dessert would bring a perfect balance of richness and refreshing flavors — just right for both a regular Tuesday and every special celebration. If I had to pick only one for the rest of my life, this would be the one!

Expand full comment
author

Such a great answer! If I ever meet you in person I'll know to make anything creamy and custardy. Which would not be a sacrifice because I share your love of those things. I would like to wave a magic want and have the exact dessert you described appear in front of me right now. 😋

Expand full comment

Your comment made me smile! There's nothing like sharing a love for creamy, custardy desserts. If we ever meet in person and there's a kitchen nearby, I would be more than delighted to make my bavarois for you and everyone else. It's a special dessert to me, one that brings warmth and a little bit of magic to the table — the same kind of magic your words conjured up for me today! Until then, let's keep dreaming of all things sweet and custardy. 😋✨

Expand full comment
author

❤️

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Lynn Hill, Rebecca Blackwell

I love that sort of cheesecake as well and particularly with raspberries as I adore anything that includes raspberries. Choosing just one favourite is difficult!

Expand full comment
author

How can we pick just one fruit flavour when there are so many to choose from.

Expand full comment
author

Cheesecake was a contender for me as well - but it would have to be a basic New York Cheesecake with no extras. I love all the variations but I think the plain vanilla cheesecake is probably the only one I wouldn't eventually get tired of. Although, I share your love of raspberries, so you can add those to my cheesecake any time.

Expand full comment

This is a challenging question! I have many favourite desserts. But, if forced to choose, I'd probably pick a fruit crumble with a nubbly topping of oats, brown sugar, butter, and flaked almonds. Topped with either ice cream, custard or a dollop of softly whipped cream.

Expand full comment
author

Delicious! Which kind of fruit is your favorite?

Expand full comment

Rhubarb strawberry 🍓 is a favourite, or good old apple 🍎 something tart is preferable

Expand full comment
author

My grandma used to grow rhubarb and she made strawberry rhubarb pies and cobblers and crumbles. They were some of my favorite things to eat when we came to visit in the summer!

Expand full comment

Ahh, you are a kindred spirit Rebecca. My mother grew rhubarb also. I think rhubarb is one of those polarizing ingredients. My husband is not a fan but I love its tartness. I cut down the sugar about 1/3 when I make pie or crumble so the fruit can really shine through. I definitely have a sweet tooth, but I don't care for desserts that are cloying.

Expand full comment
author

Agree with you 100% on every single thing you just said.

Expand full comment

Mango sticky rice

Expand full comment
author

Good choice! I love mango sticky rice!

Expand full comment

Thanks Rebecca! What did you pick??

Expand full comment
author

Vanilla ice cream. Specifically, Talenti vanilla gelato. The one thing I really, truly love and could not imagine ever growing tired of even if I ate it every day. :-)

Expand full comment

Fantastic!!

Expand full comment

I am going to be extremely basic and say creme brûlée, but I have a reason why! I love all the custard/caramel versions of this dessert. Cuban flan, crema Catalana, flan, creme caramel, custard tarts, etc. I have even been known for drinking straight custard. I feel like creme brûlée embodies the best qualities of most of those desserts; the creaminess, the sweetness, the crunchiness, the slight bitterness, etc. Plus it's fun to eat.

Expand full comment
author

I totally agree with the super basic strategy AND share your deep love of all things custard - my answer was vanilla gelato. Also, anyone who drinks custard is my kind of people.

Expand full comment
Sep 14·edited Sep 14Liked by Lynn Hill

I am very grateful mine hasn't been mentioned yet💃. It would have to be tiramisu, hardly any contest. Super sweet, punches of coffee and cocoa powder, cream but sharpness from the mascarpone👅. I would eat that stuff by the serving spoon full.

Expand full comment
author

You know, tiramisu is one of the only sweet coffee flavored things I like. I love coffee and I love sugar. But I mostly don’t want them mixed. Tiramisu is one of the few exceptions.

Expand full comment

Oh no, for me, all the sweet coffee things.

Expand full comment

This is tough! I don’t have a sweet tooth so I had to give this a lot of thought. A summer dessert with a cold component? A cozy, comforting winter dessert? Something nostalgic? 🤓

I think I’d choose an apple dumpling, flaky pastry, drizzled with caramel, topped with a scoop of cinnamon ice cream.

Expand full comment
author

Great answer! I mean, how would you ever get tired of that? Also, I would like to give you some of my enormous sweet tooth so you could share the burden. 😂 My best friend also doesn’t like most sweet things and I’m like, how are we friends???

Expand full comment

I am surrounded by people who love sweets and they do not understand me. LOL

Expand full comment
author

My best friend has mentioned that she’s tired of the bewildered look she gets from EVERYONE when she says she doesn’t like sweets. We all look at her like she said something crazy because, well, for us, not liking sweets is crazy. 😂

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Rebecca Blackwell

Hmm that's a tricky one. Guess I'd have to say a simple genoise. That might sound a bit boring, but it's such a classic and I love its simplicity.

It's also very versatile. Taken plain, it makes a great snacking or travel cake. For something fancier, you can just dress it up with lashings of cream or marmalade. We've even taken stale genoise, toasted it, then crumbled it over berries or peaches.

Expand full comment
author

I'm with you on keeping it simple! My family would tell you that I am constantly experimenting with all sorts of complicated, bold flavors. But what do I want to eat if it was the only thing I could have for dessert? Plain vanilla ice cream. And honestly, genoise is also a contender.

Expand full comment

I guess mine is sugar free pudding because that’s what hubby and I have for dessert every night, even on Tuesdays.

Expand full comment